Late Night Snack

Lemon: a yellow, oval citrus fruit with thick skin and fragrant, acidic juice.

Lime: a citrus fruit, typically green, acidic juice.

lemonLemon and limes are two simple fruits.While both are available throughout the year, lemons are in the peak of their season around May, June and August while limes are at their peak from May through October. Sometimes they are known as the “powerhouses” of fruits. They are actually very healthy for you containing between 10-20 calories per cup. They are loaded with Vitamin C. Lemons and limes contain unique compounds that have antioxidant and anti-cancer properties.

One of the tricks to finding a good quality lemon is to find one that is rather thin-skinned since those with thicker peels will have less flesh and therefore be less juicy. Therefore, choose lemons that are heavy for their size and that feature peels that have a finely grained texture.lime

Choose limes that are firm and heavy for their size. They should have a glossy skin that is deep green in color. While brown spots on the skin of limes may not affect their color, limes that are mostly brownish in color should be avoided since this may be an indication that they have “scald” which may cause them to have an undesirable moldy taste.

Most people wouldn’t look at them as a fruit to eat as a typical snack. But for my boyfriend and I, it is. Weird, I know. We usually cut up two lemons and two limes. We start off by cutting the ends off of the fruit. Then you need to cut the fruit in half. Continue by cutting the halves of the fruit into smaller pieces. You can take out any seeds you see along the way. Once they are all cut up you can eat! Sometimes I like to put a little salt on my lemons and limes. However, I don’t always. My boyfriend and I have gotten into freezing the fruit for about 30 minutes before we eat them. We find that it is easier to get all the fruit off of the skin this way. So this might be not be everyones typical snack but its something we oddly enjoy. 

Before writing this post I found a little more information about lemons and limes. I do not eat lemons and limes because they are healthy and good for me. That is just a bonus. My boyfriend and I eat them because we like the way they taste. Sweet and sour.

P.S. My boyfriend was simply thrilled to be my model as he cut up lemons and limes for us tonight! 😉

together

 

7 Comments

  1. Emily, i have never thought about lemons and Limes as a snack before. I think you have convinced me to try them! If not for something fun and different, but for something healthy too! I just think of them as a garnish on drinks at the bar, or for a little added flavor when cooking, or in your water to spice it up. Im really glad you shared all the tricks to picking out a good lemon and lime. Its just like at the grocery store i always have a hard time picking out a good pineapple! Thanks for sharing:) Love the pictures! haha

  2. I LOVE lemons! It is nice that limes’ season lasts a little longer than lemons so you can enjoy them longer. I have tried cutting my oranges the way you did in the pictures and they never turn out! I saw it on Pinterest and thought it would make them easier to eat, but for me the process was harder! I hate salt on my lemons! Then again, I do not like salt in general. Ohh! I will have to try freezing the fruit before eating. I bet this makes it better since it is colder and maybe a little less sour! My jaw has been clenched the entire time while reading this simply because I can just taste the sourness in my mouth! I hate that feeling, but love lemons; not sure much limes!

  3. Wow your boyfriend sounds like a swell guy. I love lemons and limes just as much as you. Salt definately makes it taste better in my opinion. I just started freezing my lemons not limes because the lemon makes it come off better but the lime if you freeze it makes it taste worse, thats why i only refrigerate limes to cool them not freeze them. I think we have something in common isnt that weird??

  4. I would have never guessed that this would be a good snack! Not sure I would be able to do it right away, but maybe the salt would help. I like to use them when I cook and when I bake. I especially like to use limes when I make different cocktails! That always makes them taste a little better! Thanks for this tip though!

  5. Thanks for sharing the information about when lemon and limes are ready to eat. I would never think of them as a snack, however, I do slice them and add them to my water.. does that count? As a child we used to take limes and lemons and see who could suck on them the longest (I usually lost).. too sour for me! I think it is awesome that you like to snack such healthy fruits! I love pineapple so thank you for the information on when those are ripe and ready to eat! I am excited to go to the store and buy some pineapple now! I usually get one that’s too ripe or not ripe enough! Thanks for sharing your blog.. it was fun and interesting to read!

  6. Wow…lemon and limes for snacking? Man, you two must really love the taste of sour! One might think that perhaps adding a “counter” ingredient, like something sweet, would be an ideal option. But, no, you and your man enjoy eating these fruits simply cut up-amazing! Good for you two!

Leave a Reply

