Leinie Lodge : Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin

leinenkugelsChippewa Falls, Wisconsin is home to the beer known as Leinenkugels. Leinenkugels was founded in Chippewa Falls in May 1867. The brewery was founded by Jacob Leinenkugel and John Miller. John Miller later sold his stake in the company in 1884. Leinenkugels has two breweries: the original, located in Chippewa Falls, and the 10th Street Brewery, located in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

They currently have 10 active beers, 5 seasonal beers, and 14 inactive beers.

The active beers include: Leinenkugel’s Original, Leinenkugel’s Light, Leinenkugel’s Honey Weiss, Leinenkugel’s Red Lager, Leinenkugel’s Creamy Dark, Leinenkugel’s Berry Weiss, Leinenkugel’s Big Eddy Imperial IPA, Leinenkugel’s Big Eddy Russian Imperial Stout, Leinenkugel’s Sunset Wheat, and Leinenkugel’s Canoe Paddler.

The seasonal beers include: Leinenkugel’s Summer Shandy, Leinenkugel’s Oktoberfest,  Leinenkugel’s Snowdrift Vanilla Porter, Leinenkugel’s Canoe Paddler, and Leinenkugel’s Orange Shandy.

The Inactive beers include: Leinenkugel’s 1888 Bock, Leinenkugel’s Amber Light, Leinenkugel’s Apple Spice, Leinenkugel’s Auburn Ale, Leinenkugel’s Autumn Gold, Leinenkugel’s Big Butt Doppelbock, Leinenkugel’s Bock, Leinenkugel’s Classic Amber, Leinenkugel’s Fireside Nut Brown , Leinenkugel’s Hefeweizen, Leinenkugel’s Maple Brown, Leinenkugel’s Special Ale, Leinenkugel’s Winter Lager, and Leinenkugel’s Northwoods.

There is a brewery in Chippewa Falls and alongside of it sits the Leinie Lodge. According to The Leinie Lodge it is “the place where the spirit, heritage and flavor of Leinenkugels lives.” There are free brewery tours given daily, a gift shop in the Leinie Lodge, and fresh brewed samples for those of age. 

Since I was born in Eau Claire, Wisconsin and my mothers family all lives in the area (Chippewa Falls, Bloomer, Cornell, and New Auburn) I know a little more about Leinenkugel’s than the average Joe. My Grandpa Joseph (Joe) and Uncle Teb both worked or are currently working at the brewery. My Grandpa did it for as long as I can remember and my uncle is still working there. Along with working at the brewery my uncle is also a full time dairy farmer.

Moving on, since I’ve turned 21 I have went to the brewery twice. The first time was during Easter (2014) with my parents and boyfriend. The second time was this past weekend, the day before my cousins wedding, with my parents, sister, and leinieboyfriend. This was my sisters first time she was able to drink at the Leinie Lodge since she turned 21. It was a lot of fun. You pay $1 to get a chip and a wrist band proving your 21. You trade your chip in at the counter for a glass. You then get 5 samples of Leinenkugels beer. Each sample you get they mark off on your wrist band. When you get to your last sample you can try one of the “special” beers on tap that day, which is usually an IPA type of beer. I personally don’t like IPA beers because they tend to be dark and leave a terrible after-taste in my mouth so usually I skip this sample.

 

For more information about Leinenkugels Brewing Company or the Leinie Lodge check out these websites: https://leinie.com/#landing and http://www.travelwisconsin.com/breweries/food-tours/jacob-leinenkugel-brewing-company-203813 .

md    Lodge    leinie l

 

1 Comment

  1. What a very cool review of the LeinenKugal heritage! It makes me want to go visit it with my boyfriend, as he is an avid beer drinker from Canada, and he thinks the US doesn’t have any good beer! We are traveling to the US soon, and I would love to stop by here and have him try some fresh beer. I, however, am not a beer drinker-I have never been able to acquire the taste for beer, and not sure how people do. Oh well, to each his own!

Leave a Reply

